The Blog of Champions

Part of a Nutritious Breakfast

Ranting and Raving

I haven’t ranted or raved in awhile, and one of my most loyal readers suggested I should. A lot of things have been bothering me lately, but if I had to pick one, it would be the lack of journalistic integrity I’ve been finding lately. Without naming names, I find it odd that people publish stories without even attempting to cite sources. Things like “I’ve learned” Or ” It’s been suggested.” I hate that. As a reader, I want the hard truth. I don’t want weak, unsubstantiated rumors, based on nothing more than hearsay. If you’re writing to get readers, then it’s wrong. Even this blog, I’m not writing to get readers. I blog for numerous reasons, chiefly among them, to gain writing experience, and for an outlet for my thoughts. And while I appreciate and value my readership, I don’t want to lead them on, just for the sake of getting more readers. I’ve heard the expression lately, “Don’t listen to what they say, watch what they do.” That makes perfect sense, because nothing is ever true, unless it’s actually proven. That’s what this country was built on. Innocent until proven guilty. In this case, untrue until proven true. As more evidence, take the tabloid celebrity magazines. Although I am guilty of perusing them on occasion, I read it more for the laughs, due to the amazing amount of unsubstantiated rumors. Who are their sources? Who are the insiders, the people close to the situation. Now, some writers, who I have great admiration for, have trusted sources, sources whom I trust, even if I don’t know who they are. But some of the rumors just make absolutely no sense. I think they have to look themselves in the eye, and seriously consider if their job is worthwhile to society. I do not think it is. If they can look me in the eyes, and tell me that they are contributing to society, I don’t think I could believe them. Journalistic integrity  is of the utmost importance, because these are the folks who we get the news from. Sure, they could lie to us. They could. But, when all is said and done, are they actually being productive, and are they happy with their profession? I know I wouldn’t.

As for some raves, I saw Love Guru last night. Hilarious. Best Mike Myers movie. I have a couple of movies on my list for the summer months. Get Smart. Hancock. Pineapple Express. Tropic Thunder. Although some of the movies I’ve listed are stupid, sometimes those are the best, as they provide an escape. I like the silly movies over the dramatic ones, because I like to be able to enjoy myself at a movie theatre. I would rather experience cinematic genius in the comfort of my home, because of the sheer intensity of it. I like being able to pause when I want to. But, for the movies above, those are things I cannot wait for.

June 23, 2008 - Posted by | rants and raves

1 Comment »

  1. This is refreshing

    Comment by McAwesome | June 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

